That place

Honoring another promise regarding to WP’s community after this post, Atlas Tracer will hibernate a while against the fact that here is almost spring. Perhaps I will pop in few minutes there and there just saying „Hi” since some of the priorities have changed. Thanks to everyone for travelling along.

Predeal – which always asks for me from one or another reason – is one of my favorite places on Earth. After almost six hours on the road enchanting myself by the delectable views of the Prahova Valley and Mircea Eliade’s writings, I got off from the train and first I stopped for a coffee in my favourite restaurant. http://www.vatraregala.ro/ Sipping my coffee I called the host telling that I have arrived and soon I’ll get to them. Such a nice people! They also offered me a lift to their villa from the railway station, I had to tell a polite no as I was there to walk at least ten minutes and not to bother anyone more than necessary. A great family with such a nice hotel and very well located. http://www.tamina.ro/en/

It was a short trip just to take some fresh air and clear my thoughts. In fact, it was my present for Christmas received in advance as I did not want a crowded resort, which worked perfect for the time being. I dropped my luggage and went around. I was walking a lot, stared in the the same manner and enjoying my moments. I did not go skiing, last time when I had those long and unbearable tools in my feet, it was 1996 and everytime I was stopped by the fence or just by the trees. I couldn’t handle it thus I wanted speed. Lots of fun back in those days. So I watched instead other people in motion and having fun while I was sipping a red hot wine to warm my feet and my hands.

Predeal lies in Brasov, Romania and it isn’t a fancy montane resort thus for some like me, Predeal is special. It’s not a must to have a lot of things to entertain oneself or lots monuments to visit, a place doesn’t gain its fame only through a particular thing or point of attraction, memories can make a place to become exceptional. I believe that everyone has a unique place in which someone feels different and away from the everyday routine and not because it is holiday time just because we chose a place or the place was choosing us and we start making memories of us, like Keith Urban’s song.

In one line, Predeal means: beautiful scenery, great people and food, rest, fresh air and motion. For those who aren’t reaching Predeal only for winter, all year around they can visit some other attractions from the area. Its location allows everyone to sightsee from Predeal in less than 100 km, eight new places: Bran Castle (35 km); Brasov ( Black Church -25 km); Busteni ( Sfinxul, Babele, Cantacuzino Castle, Caraiman Monastery – 26 km); Fagaras (Sambata de Sus Monastery and Fagaras Fortress – 90 km); Harman (Fortress Church -32 km); Presmer Fortress (32 km); Rasnov Fortress (26 km); Sinaia (Peles Castle, George Enescu Museum – 47 km). All the history stored and preserved to enchante the sight and minds.

8 thoughts on “That place

Leave a Reply

